Skip directly to content

Press Release - BSFC 2013 Awards Ceremony



CONTACT: Tom Meek, Event Coordinator/President, Boston Society of Film Critics 





BOSTON —David France, Oscar-nominated director of the acclaimed documentary How to Survive a Plague, will be the guest of honor at the Boston Society of Film Critics’ (BSFC) sixth annual awards ceremony on Sunday, February 10 at 7 p.m. at the Brattle Theatre, Harvard Square, Cambridge, MA. The BSFC voted France best new filmmaker and How to Survive a Plague best documentary for 2012. France will take part in a Q-and-A session immediately following the film screening.

Tickets are available to the public through the Brattle Theater and the BSFC web sites. There will be a pre-event cocktail reception at 5:30 p.m. at The Sinclair, 52 Church St., Cambridge, MA.

How to Survive a Plague is a riveting account about the AIDS activists of ACT-UP and TAG who pushed successfully in the '80s and '90s to make the epidemic a public health priority. It has been nominated as 2012’s Best Documentary by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Besides recognition from the BSFC, the film took the prize for Best Debut Film at the New York Film Critics' Circle Awards, the first documentary ever to do so.

Partial proceeds from the event will benefit The David Brudnoy Fund for AIDS Research at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH). Brudnoy, who died in 2004, was a founding member of the BSFC.

The ceremony will also honor several members of the Boston film community cited by BSFC for their contributions in 2012. Local awardees include the Independent Film Festival Boston; Sharon and Lisa Rivo of the National Center for Jewish Film; The Berklee Silent Film Orchestra; Arthur Singer and Ron Goodman, authors of the book Boston’s Downtown Movie Palaces; and Generoso Fierro, film programmer at MIT for the “Complete Works” series.

The BSFC’s annual awards ceremony is a much-anticipated event for the Boston film community. Many BSFC honorees have gone on to Oscar nominations and wins. These include past guests Stan Chervin, one of the Oscar-nominated script writers for Moneyball; Andrew Weisblum, the Oscar-nominated editor of Black Swan; Jeremy Renner, Oscar-nominated star of The Hurt Locker; Maureen Ryan, producer of the Oscar-winning documentary Man on Wire, and actor Frank Langella, an Oscar nominee for Frost/Nixon.

Formed in 1981, the BSFC is made up of 22 professional film critics working in the print and broadcast media in and around Boston. Visit the BSFC website at for more information on the organization and for a complete list of winners.

Event sponsors are the Hotel Veritas, the Sinclair, Big Picture Framing, The Phoenix and Flash Print

For more information or to purchase tickets to the awards event, visit the Brattle Theatre website at or the BSFC website at