Skip directly to content

BSFC Press Release - January 23, 2012


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE       January 23, 2012


CONTACT:  Tom Meek, Event Coordinator/President, Boston Society of Film Critics 









BOSTON —Stan Chervin, one of the writers of the acclaimed 2011 film Moneyball will be the guest of honor at the Boston Society of Film Critics’ (BSFC) fifth annual awards ceremony Saturday, February 4 at 7 p.m. at the Brattle Theatre, Harvard Square, Cambridge, MA. Moneyball will be screened at the event with a Q and A with Chervin and Boston Globe film critic Ty Burr immediately following.

Joyce Kulhawik will serve as the event’s master of ceremonies. Tickets are available to the public through the Brattle Theater and the BSFC web sites. There will be a pre-event cocktail reception at 5:30 p.m. at Casablanca restaurant in Harvard Square.

At its end of the year voting for the best films of 2011, the BSFC awarded the best screenplay award to Moneyball. Chervin contributed to Aaron Sorkin and Steven Zaillian’s screenplay. The BSFC also honored Moneyball by selecting Brad Pitt as best actor for his portrayal of Oakland A’s general manager Billy Beane whose who turned the small-market A’s into a winning team by adopting a computer-generated system to select players that revolutionizes how baseball statistics are interpreted.

The ceremony will also honor several members of the Boston film community cited by BSFC for their contributions in 2011. Local awardees include the Brattle Film Foundation for 10 years as a nonprofit, for its continued commitment to film preservation, and for its eclectic, and historically and culturally relevant repertory programming at the Brattle Theater; Ben Fowlie, Sara Archambault, and Sean Flynn, co-founder programmers of DocYard, for presenting a vibrant forum for the Boston documentary community to see important new non-fiction works and to have meaningful discussions with the filmmakers; and to the Museum of Fine Arts for purchasing, programming, and broadly promoting Christian Marclay's film installation, "The Clock," and for allowing audiences to experience this unique work of cinema in its full 24-hour runtime on select dates.

The BSFC’s annual awards ceremony is a much-anticipated event for the Boston film community. The event has featured eventual Oscar winners or nominees for four years running: past guests have included Andrew Weisblum, the Oscar-nominated editor of Black Swan; Jeremy Renner, Oscar-nominated star of The Hurt Locker; Maureen Ryan, producer of the Oscar-winning documentary Man on Wire, and actor Frank Langella, an Oscar nominee for Starting Out in the Evening.

Formed in 1981, the BSFC is made up of 19 professional film critics working in the print and broadcast media in and around Boston. Visit the BSFC website at for more information on the organization and for a complete list of winners.

For more information or to purchase tickets to the awards event, visit the Brattle Theatre website at or he BSFC website at

Event Sponsors: The Hotel Veritas, The Boston PhoenixBig Picture Framing, Flash Print and Casablanca Restaurant.